If you haven't heard the Japanese saying, here it is.
"A wise man climbs Mt. Fuji once. A fool climbs it twice."

3776 meters. You can climb Mt. Fuji from any number of stations, and I was smart enough to choose the lowest one.
I first knew that what I was doing was stupid when I realized that I was the only person on the bus to the 5th station (basically the highest point that is bus accessible). I struck up a conversation with the bus driver, and we talked about his job and why I came to Japan. It was nice. It was my first time holding a conversation and being able to say everything that I wanted to in Japanese. A day of firsts.
I got off the bus at the Fifth Station, and I expected him to say "ganbatte", which means "do your best", the equivalent of good luck.
As with all of my Japanese expectations, I was mistaken. He said, "ki o tsukete", which means be careful.

I started climbing the Gotemba route at about 3:00PM. The bus station was at about 1400 meters. 2376 meters to go! I tried to forget this fact.
The second thing that hinted at me being an inexperienced idiot was that I never once saw anyone else climbing up the mountain. Everyone I saw was going down. Given, I was going up, so I would have to overtake someone to see them, but this did not quell the small feeling of uneasiness inside me.
However, it was only a small feeling. It was much overpowered by the joy of physical exertion, being on Japan's most famous mountain, and seeing a landscape that looked like I was on a different planet. The base of Mt. Fuji is covered in ash. It's basically black and gray gravel, and trails are carved out of it like grooves in a giant Zen Rock Garden (see above).

To add to the other-worldliness, the base of the mountain is usually covered in a lazy mist. Dew collected on my hair and eyelids, and it was a wonderful cool break from the heat of the summer. Every once in a while the haze would clear, and I was left with a beautiful view of the peak and the trails around me.
The hike wasn't bad though. Most of Mt. Fuji is a very steady climb. Only towards the top is the hiking nasty. It's just the shear MAGNITUDE of the volcano that makes it difficult. That and the fact that all the trails are covered in different sized volcanic rocks. Slipping and almost falling becomes routine.

I reach the 7th station by about 9:00PM. I realize that I left WAY too early to time my ascent to the sunrise. However, I was treated to a sunset on my ascent, and the weather was perfectly mild.
The photo above is taken from the 7th station as the moon rose well after the sun had set. On this day, even at that height I was well above the cloud line, and it began to feel like the top of the world.
At the 7th station there was a dorm-style inn, of which there were 3 on the Gotemba trail. I thought I would be tough and stay outside the night perched on a bench instead of paying the 50,000¥ for a bed. I just had to stay 5 hours, and it's summer, right?
It was freezing. It took me 30 minutes in the cold for me to fork over the money. It was worth every yen. The bed was extremely warm, and my iPod drowned out the sound of Japanese men's snoring.
I slept until 2AM. Not the best sleep. At all. But hey, I was warm. I set out to climb to the top. Slightly recharged by my sleep, I took my time to climb the last 1000 meters or so. The going was rough. I bought a nice LED lamp affixed to my head to see the trail at night. I hate rocks now, by the way. So much.
It took me 1.5 hours. The altitude wasn't as bad as I thought it would be. The problem was a distinct lack of water. As you ascend, water gets more expensive, as much as 700¥ ($7) per 250ml bottle. I set out with 1.5 liters thinking that I would ascend in one night. I bought a couple of bottles at different stations on the way, but from now on there were no stations until I reached the top, and I had taken my last sip.
I reached the top at 3:30AM. I was greeted with a burst of energy as I crossed the tori (gate) marking the peak as a holy place. When I reached the edge of the crater, my world exploded. I couldn't help but very audibly gasp seeing the cavern. Again, the thing about Mt. Fuji is the shear magnitude. The crater was massive, a gaping crevice shadowed by the moonlight.
All this said, it was freakin' freezing. I had not brought warm enough clothes, and I had to spend another hour on the peak until the sun rose.
Luckily I didn't have to wait alone. I sought out the East edge of the peak and found a large amount of people perching, waiting for the sunrise. I found a spot, and shivered away the next hour.

Longest sunrise of my life. It was an amazing feeling, wanting only one thing; the sun to rise and make the earth warmer. What made it even more amazing was that every other person perched at this spot (about 75 of them) wanted the exact same thing. And we all knew it. And we didn't need to say a thing (though some Japanese boys kept whispering "samui-yo", it's cold).
If there's one thing you can rely on, it's time. Eventually, the sun rose, and the world became warmer. And it was beautiful.
I made the hike around the crater (almost not worth the 45 minutes, beautiful, but I was EXHAUSTED and parched), and saw hundreds of people just arriving on the peak.
I descended. I hate rocks. Going down a rocky slope is worse than going up. And did I say I was exhausted?
Once I reached the ash-covered part of the mountain, though, I discovered why I had seen so many people descending, but not a single person ascending. Not many people start up the Gotemba trail since it's the lowest starting point. However, many people go down it because they like to run on the ashen part, like a giant sand dune. I read that it takes 30 minutes to descend that part of the mountain, running the whole time. I ran down much of the mountain-side, wishing that my legs were in better shape. I reached the haze and began running through mist. It was extremely liberating.

Breakdown of my Mt. Fuji climb:
Time spent on the mountain: 18 hours
Time spent climbing the mountain: 13 hours
Ascent time: 9 hours (with 1 hour food break)
Descent time: 3 hours
Vertical meters ascended: 2376m
Time before I'll do it again: Long
The third time that I realized that I was an idiot (since all good things come in threes) was when I woke up this morning. I could hardly roll out of bed. ('>.<')
I hope you all enjoyed this! I have so many more beautiful pictures. I'll probably start a flickr account when I get home and I'll send you all links.